Heather Randol Jul 2024



We had a wonderful time with James learning how to make gnocchi! We each were able to do hands-on work. You can do as much or as little as you like. He explained and demonstrated each step with care. He shared where he purchased the fresh and delicious ingredients. He had a wonderful spread of cheese, truffle salami and pâté for us when we arrived as well. Dinner was served in his beautiful home at the dining table where we enjoyed our meal and chatted with the other attendees. Overall it was an excellent experience and we feel confident we can make this again at home!!

Italian Cooking Class: Sardinian Gnocchi review by Heather Randol - San Francisco

Deanna van Buren Jul 2024



We Loved cookin' with James. It was just the right amount of convo, cooking and conversation. His home is lovely and he is a great host with a lot of culinary knowledge!

Scott Williams Jul 2024



great place to have a group dinner, participated as much or as little as we wanted to by person.

Catherine Laureano Jul 2024



I learned how to make paella with chef James. It was such an amazing class and informative up to the small details. It was worth it. I like that it was a small group of class. We were able to take turns on doing hands on work. The food that we prepared was really good. We were also served with salad and dessert.

Spanish Cooking Class: Cooking and Conversation review by Catherine Laureano - San Francisco

Doug Ridgway Jun 2024



James did a very good job in presenting the class making it both nformative and fun.

Olga Prakapenkava May 2024



We had an absolutely fabulous time at our team outing, all thanks to James! He’s such a blast to be around—super friendly, incredibly fun, and a true professional. His place is gorgeous, and his kitchen? It's a culinary masterpiece! The quality of the ingredients he provided was top-notch, and our pizzas turned out absolutely mouthwatering.

What made the experience even better was learning about the technology, recipe, and history of Neapolitan pizza. James made the whole process super engaging and fun. We all left with new skills, full bellies, and huge smiles. We can’t wait to come back and do it all over again! Highly recommend this amazing experience to everyone!

Mehmet Ihsan Orgut May 2024



It was great class! James was very helpful and supportive. We learned the tricks of the pizza making thanks to him. House is in a superb location and a great place for this type of an event.

Courtney Lopez May 2024



We had a great time! Best paella I’ve ever eaten! Thank you so much for a fun time!

Jhanvi Patel Mar 2024



James gave us all a very warm welcome. We all enjoyed making our own style of pizza. Being a bigger group the refreshments that James provided helped keep everybody busy. And the set up was just perfect for us all.

Lisa Mayerson Feb 2024



We had a team cooking class with Chef James and it was amazing! Everyone had a blast and was raving about the food. James' house is also incredible! We definitely recommend taking this cooking class and would come back in a heartbeat!

Marissa Rea Feb 2024



Had such a great time with James! The food, new friends, experience…unforgettable! Definitely doing it again!

Spanish Cooking Class: A Night in Spain review by Marissa Rea - San Francisco

Darlene Ordonez Feb 2024



This class was so much fun! james was a warm and welcoming host. Our team learned alot and already want to book another class!

Kyle von Seeburg Jan 2024



Fantastic teacher and great guy to spend a night with cooking. Beautiful kitchen, overall fun night.

Edmund Yau Jan 2024



James was a great host and teacher! Great communication and lots of knowledge and stories to share. Would highly recommend!

Teresa Fitzgerald Dec 2023



Thank you, James, for a wonderful Christmas Eve cooking experience with my family! The gnocchi making was a pleasure and your hospitality was terrific. We all enjoyed the delicious appetizers that you shared at the beginning, great conversation, the hands-on lesson culminating in a delicious dinner, as well as your generosity in sharing a bottle of your personal wine and the relaxed way in which we were able to enjoy the entire experience at a pace that was natural and fun. We will look to joining you for your other classes soon!

Jane Barrett Oct 2023



Chef James is a great host, his home is lovely and the pizza making class is super fun. He was also great with my 14 year old, very patient and encouraging. We had a lovely evening and I highly recommend this class.

Stephanie Gillen Sep 2023



We had a great meal and wonderful experience cooking with James! It was the perfect teambuilding event to do with my team. We look forward to the next event we can do with James.

William Xiao Sep 2023



James was great - we made a delicious meal in his cozy home! Would definitely recommend

Diana Cheval Sep 2023



Chef James was very knowledgeable and gracious with his time. This class is a memorable experience. Highly recommend.

Chloe Despos Aug 2023



We ended up having to cancel last minute, I still feel bad, but James was very understanding and kind about it. So while I cannot review the class itself, I want to say communicating with James was 10/10 and the cancellation policy was super clear from the get go so there was no confusion!

Bhavin Patel Aug 2023



Chef James hosted a fun and engaging evening for our friends - he educated us on farmers to buy produce from, had simple and easy recipes to cook from, and cooked with us a delicious meal!

Linda Guitron Aug 2023



I so enjoyed my pizza-making class with James in his beautiful Edwardian home! We started off with a lovely cheese tray. Then James explained all about how to make a Neapolitan-style pizza and we got to roll out the dough, put on tomato sauce, cheese, and toppings. (He will email the recipe for the dough to us.) Because he has a special pizza oven that quickly bakes the pizzas, we all had our fill of delicious pizza and salad. I really appreciated the friendly atmosphere and beautifully set tables of this class.

Tom Phelan Aug 2023



We enjoyed the class. Looking at another class on our next visit to the city.

Shannon McNair Aug 2023



James is not only a great teacher, he is a wonderful host who made us feel welcome from the second we arrived. The class is held in his home which is warm and inviting unlike many of those industrial kitchens that classes like these are often held in. Our team had a really great time making pasta and the meal was decadently delicious. I would absolutely recommend the class to anyone looking to do some team bonding with a great chef with yummy food.

Mario Paoletti Jul 2023



We did a pasta making class with James and had an incredible time. His house is as warm and friendly as he is and hime has deep and diversified culinary knowledge. We had an incredible time, will absolutely be going back, and would recommend Cook with James to everyone!

Anita Gormley Jul 2023



James was a great host and we had so much fun making paella with him. He has a beautiful home and is so informative. We will definitely come back!

David Cohen Jul 2023



We just had a great team building gnocchi making event with Chef James. The whole experience was the perfect tempo to give us time to get to know each other, learn to cook, enjoy a delicious meal, and all in a nice warm environment. Chef James was a great host who was a thoughtful guide throughout the entire event. I'd highly recommend this experience to everyone.

Junior Poloka Jul 2023



The market tour was really fun and James was an excellent host and teacher. I am looking forward to taking another class of his.

Johna Seo Jul 2023



We learned how to cook paella with James for our team offsite and it was a great experience! The atmosphere was casual and welcoming. We enjoyed a charcuterie board that James prepared before we started cooking. Then we learned how to cook paella and also had some delicious dessert afterwards. I would definitely recommend this experience with others who are looking for an interactive way to spend time with a group of people.

Madison Rodrigues Jun 2023



James was great! Took this class as a group of 4 and he made us all very comfortable and welcomed us into his beautiful home! All 4 of us were able to participate in the pasta making process while James cooked the sauce for us. He even provided us appetizers! Such a fun birthday activity, we would 100% do this again!

Shanna Keil Jun 2023



James provided a great experience for the ladies of my office. His home is beautifully decorated and he had a delicious charcuterie board prepared when we arrived which interesting and high quality ingredients. He was very welcoming and provided lots of knowledge about cooking and shared interesting travel stories. I appreciated his attention to quality ingredients and we had a great time making and eating delicious pizzas! It was a great and authentic experience and I enjoyed the emphasis on simple, fresh ingredients for a delicious meal. The salad was another delicious addition, and the cheesecake at the end of the night was a perfect way to finish off the meal. He even let us take home some fresh dough balls to make ourselves and any leftover pizza. We left very full and happy! It was overall a great night!

Jessica Galicia May 2023



It was a great class and time to meet other people I want to do it again.

Spanish Cooking Class: A Night in Spain review by Jessica Galicia - San Francisco

Blanca Woodman Apr 2023



James was great! Lovely evening and really well prepared. Excellent charcuterie, wine, gnocchi lesson itself, and just a great time overall - would highly recommend!

Brent Apr 2023



James provided a great atmosphere for the event. Everyone participated in the pasta making and the sauce and salad provided by James really rounded out the meal. I would like to try some of his other classes.

Mike Griffis Apr 2023



Chef James and his private home were both very relaxing and welcoming. His pasta Making Class was informative and all if us got chances to participate in the preparation. We had a total of 6 people in the class from varied backgrounds and they were all interesting to meet and share dinner with. We enjoyed ourselves so much, we didn't want to leave.
Thank you Chef James for a great experience.

Priscilla Farrugia Feb 2023



This was my second time with James. I love the cozy and intimate cooking class. It makes it a lot of fun. In addition, James is the perfect host. One can tell he just loves hosting and creates a relax environment. Thank you James for putting up with our shenanigans and our craziness. Already looking forward to my next class.

Pirie Grossman Feb 2023



Chef James was an amazing host & chef! The food was delicious and the ambience of his home was so cosy and intimate. We had a fantastic birthday dinner at his place! No one wanted to leave! We are definitely coming back! What a beautiful gem in the heart of San Francisco ♥️

Italian Cooking Class: Rustic Meatball Supper review by Pirie Grossman - San Francisco

Priyanka Patel Feb 2023



My husband and I had a memorable date night at Chef James’ wonderful home! It was fun making pizzas and sharing them with our group over wine/ beer.
Chef James is informed and patient. Overall it was a memorable evening!

Luanne Andreotti Jan 2023



Cooking with James was a gift. I loved the farmers market scavenging to meet vendors since I own a place nearby and now can navigate better! We returned to his home - a respite from the rain with an inviting charcuterie plate to greet us. It was a new experience making pasta and the results were delightful. Next time I’d like to actually cook the noodles as well and the sauce. I will sign up again. Overall James was an ideal teacher and host and I really enjoyed the young couples in our group. I was solo to connected with a single gal to form another couple. I’m spreading the word now great this is on my social media!

Farmer's Market Tour and Cook Seasonal Lunch review by Luanne Andreotti - San Francisco

Dan Markosky Jan 2023



James was a great host, and we loved meeting several of his favorite vendors at the farmers market. He then welcomed us into his beautiful home where we spent time learning pasta making while enjoying company with the group. Amazing day and we will definitely be booking another event with James!

Anna Iurchenko Dec 2022



I invited friends to celebrate my birthday and learn how to make an amazing pizza together with chief James. It was so much more than I have expected! James is such a wonderful host and a chief and his space is amazing!

He served us yummy appetizers at the beginning and gave us plenty of time to open presents, to mingle, to chat and just enjoy time together. When we moved to the kitchen he demoed how to make a pizza and shared all the tips on how you can achieve great results at home. All guests got a chance to cook any pizza they want with variety of ingredients and then share it with the rest.

James was very attentive to all the guest and also made everyone welcome: one of the guests was allergic to wheat and James found a way to accommodate their needs by finding a wheat-free pizza crust, that was also really yummy!

I have very warm memories about this Birthday cooking party with chief James! We just had fun learning how to make pizza and enjoyed wonderful food that we made and chief James made for us!

Neapolitan Pizza Making Class review by Anna Iurchenko - San Francisco

Priya Ryali Dec 2022



Amazing class! We loved the whole experience in making fresh pasta will be coming back!

Libby Palomeque Dec 2022



Warm, funny, and welcoming, James made every guest feel instantly at ease. And the food was magnificent Highly recomended!

Jean Nelson-Rodriguez Dec 2022



I did this class with a couple of girlfriend. The setting was in his house, which was lovely. James is a well traveled chef, which his stories added to the experience. I've been making bouillabaisse for Christmas the last few years and I hadn't found a recipe that seemed restaurant quality. The bouillabaisse James made was delish and I am excited to recreate it at home. Of course he made everything seem so effortless! I highly recommend cooking with James.

Amanda Jones Dec 2022



Excellent experience all around. James is the real deal. He knows his way around the Farmer’s Market and the cooking experience was warm and informative. We are already planning our next adventure with him. Such a fun experience!

Cooking class review by Amanda Jones - San Francisco

Brent Stapleton Nov 2022



James was great, he was very knowledgeable, friendly, and had a beautiful kitchen. The paella we made was a very accessible recipe, and the resulting meal was delicious.

Anne Gamino Nov 2022



We absolutely enjoyed this cooking class with Chef James! He was personable, professional, and he gave us lots of tips and answered all our questions. The class format was relaxed and intimate. The entire experience exceeded our expectations, and we look forward to signing up for another class with Chef James again soon!

Jon Ezell Sep 2022



Che James was a great teacher and host. Beautiful setting, relaxed atmosphere, great pizza, great fun!

Glen Fisher Sep 2022



A wonderful experience - James was great to work with and provided an engaging (and delicious) experience for my team of 10 colleagues.
Jame's hospitality, hands-on teaching and the venue (a turn-of the-century Edwardian home) made it feel like we were visiting a friend's home for dinner! Will definitely do it again and recommend to others.

Rachael King Sep 2022



James was an excellent teacher, incredibly knowledgeable about Italian and Spanish foods. The class was in his beautiful home and he made us feel welcome. If you’re looking for a hands-on class, you might try the pizza class. The saffron risotto with prawns was more of a demo class but it made for an excellent date night as dinner afterwards was delicious! My date said this was the most fun he’d had in ages!
4FHB8OR140 b96a490f1dd90bcefdba5812d2d1076a production US new-york-city